Cable Creek FArm
Cable Creek Farm is the product of the hard work and passion of several different families over more than a century's time.
It began in 1890, when an E. Coast native named John Cable and his son, William, ventured out West to claim their piece of the new frontier. They built a small log cabin (which has since become part of a neighboring parcel), grew crops and worked to improve the land. In 1901, the government granted them ownership under the Homestead Act of 1862.
The Cable's had a notable history prior to arriving in North Idaho. John Cable had served in the army during the Mexican-American War. He received a Medal of Honor for single-handedly securing the surrender of the cathedral at the Battle of Monterrey. He also served as the Inspector General of Pennsylvania.
Unfortunately, he died shortly after receiving the deed to his land.
John's son, William Cable - and his wife Martha - took over where their dad left off. They built the farmhouse that currently stands at Cable Creek Farm and raised their 4 children there. William had military distinctions of his own, including serving under General Blunt during part of the Civil War and, reportedly, fighting for 9 days without food (except 4 hardtack) to cover the retreat of General Banks at the Battle of Jenkins Ferry.
After the war, William Cable was active in politics, and served as a Kootenai County Commissioner in 1895. One of their great-granddaughters still lives in North Idaho today.
Current owners, Dave and Beth Tysdal and Kris Carey, are honored to be stewards of this beautiful land and its rich history, and chose to recognize the Cable's labor - and their many sacrifices for our country - by naming the farm in their honor.
...And that's how Cable Creek Farm came to be.
Copyright 2013. Cable Creek Farm. All rights reserved.